Prof Deb White

Deb White in Lab

South Australian Health & Medical Research Institute

Professor Deborah (Deb) White PhD FFSc (RCPA)
Deb is the Director of Cancer Research and Deputy Cancer Theme Leader at the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI) in Adelaide. Deb is a Principal Research Fellow with SAHMRI, a member of the Centre for Personalised Cancer Medicine and a Professor in both Medicine and Paediatrics at the University of Adelaide.  In addition, she is a Fellow of the Faculty of Science (Royal College of Pathologists of Australia) a member of the American, European and Australian Societies of Haematology and the International Children’s Oncology Group (COG).  
Deb holds Grants from The Hughes Foundation (USA), the NHMRC, the Leukaemia Foundation Australia (LFA) and the Cancer Council SA (CCSA) to continue her work in CML, Ph+ and Ph-like ALL, drug transport and mechanisms of resistance. She has presented more than 130 papers at scientific meetings (both invited and peer reviewed) and has authored more than 50 scientific publications on CML and ALL in the last five years, as well as being an inventor on several patents. 
Deb is an invited reviewer for many international scientific journals, including Blood, Leukemia, Clinical Cancer Research, Experimental Hematology and Haematologica, an abstract reviewer for EHA and ASH and is an invited Project and Fellowship Grant Reviewer for several International and National funding bodies including the NHMRC, Cancer Australia and the Leukaemia Foundation of Australia. She is an invited member of both the SA Bioscience Pillar Committee, the NHMRC Research Translation Faculty and a member of the NHMRC Academy.  
Deb is on the executive committee of the SA Cancer Research Biobank, is the Director of the SA Biospecimen Resources Facility and is the Head of Correlative Studies for all major Australian CML and recent Ph+ ALL clinical trials. She has received in excess of $6 million in Pharmaceutical funding over the last 5 years.
Deb was recently recognised as the 2014 Australian Society for Medical Research (ASMR) Leading Light for her Medical Research. 
Prior to joining SAHMRI Deb was employed as the Scientific Head of Haematology research at SA Pathology. 

Organising Committee

Michelle Haber (Chair)   
Kiri Collins
Tony Phillips    
Maria Kavallaris
Carol Wadham    
Liz Wynn    
David Ziegler    
Greg Arndt
Jessica Keath
Murray Norris
Amanda Philp
Peter Wejbora
Denise Yu
Maree Overall (ASN Events)

Program Committee

Maria Kavallaris (Chair)
Michelle Haber
Richard Lock
Glenn Marshall
Amanda Philp
Toby Trahair   
David Ziegler
Jenny Byrne (SCHN)
Phil Hogg (UNSW)
Debbie Marsh (USYD)
Clare Scott (WEHI)
Alex Swarbrick (Garvan)   
Nikki Verrills (HMRI/UON)
Jamie Fletcher
Tao Liu
Karen MacKenzie
Murray Norris
Rosemary Sutton
Peter Wejbora
Tracy Bryan (CMRI)
Peter Gunning (UNSW)
Lisa Horvath (Lighthouse)
Grant McArthur (Peter Mac)
Ian Street (WEHI)
Mathew Vadas (Centenary)
Maree Overall (ASN)